Reproductive Health and HIV Research Unit *
* *
> search site
> site map
> contact us
> link to us
RHRU is a WHO collaborating centre

Announcement and Call for Abstracts

1st Interest Workshop - Announcement & call for abstracts
Friday 16 February 2007

1st Interest Workshop
International Workshop on HIV Treatment, Pathogenesis and Prevention Research in Resource-poor Settings

Uganda, 30 May - 2 June 2007

An initiative of Prof. Joep Lange, Center for Poverty-related Communicable Diseases (CPCD), Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam, and Dr. Charles Boucher, University Medical Center Utrecht. Chair: Prof. Elly Katabira, Makerere University, Kampala.

Program: a three-day program consisting of parallel sessions on HIV prevention and treatment with presentations of renowned invited speakers, abstract-driven presentations, and poster sessions. There will be a pre-dinner presentation on 31 May and a special World Bank session on 1 June.

Topics Prevention

- Target group interventions
- STDs and HIV
- The interface between reproductive health and HIV
- Microbicides
- PrEP and PEP
- Circumcision
- Scaling-up and making traditional HIV prevention methods
Topics Treatment

- When to start ART
- Antiretroviral drug regimens
- ART drug resistance
- OI prophylaxis
- Nutrition
- Pediatric treatment
- Adherence

Organizing Committee:
Elly Katabira (chair) - Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda
Charles Boucher - University Medical Center Utrecht, the Netherlands
Joep Lange - Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Richard Koup - Vaccine Research Center, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Praphan Phanuphak - Thai Red Cross AIDS Research Center, Bangkok, Thailand
Helen Rees - University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa

Scientific Committee:
Brian Angus - Coovadia Ashraf - Deborah Birx - Pedro Cahn - Frank Cobelens - Kevin de Cock - David Cooper - Alex Coutinho - Sinead Delany-Moretlwe - Mark Dybul - Charles Gilks - Nick Hellmann - Shabbar Jaffar - John Kaldor - Michel Kazatchkine - Nagalingeshwaran Karamasamy - Catherine MacPhail - Timothy Mastro - Souleymane Mboup - Veronica Miller - Paula Munderi - Kogie Naidoo - Francis Ndowa - Renee Ridzon - Papa Salif Sow - Mauro Schechter - Wendy Stevens - Francois Venter - Carolyn Williamson - Debrework Zewdie

A number of scholarships will be available for this workshop. Scholarships will be allocated based on the quality of the applicant's submitted abstract. Applicants are requested to submit their abstract and application before 15 March. They will be informed about the result before 6 April.

Deadline for abstract submission and application for scholarships:
15 March 2007

For more information and registration, please visit our website:


Comment On Page | Tell A Friend | Bookmark | Print Page

designed by litmus digital